MAYPOLE - THE BAND - THE MUSIC
   

Welcome To The Maypole Home

"There are only three of us left, John Nickel, Steve Mace and Dennis Tobell(Demian Bell) 'The guys who made this music with me, are very special to me. We shared great and bad times.Some downright hard times. Even though they have past from this life, I cherish their memory and their contribution to my music and my life."
Rate this Artist!
Music and Show Reviews
Maypole Album The Real
Publication:  Amazon.com
by:  Clear Spot
2007-08-29

CD REVIEW MAYPOLE

 

MAYPOLE: “The Real” (Gear Fab - Clearspot)

 

 Maypole were a Baltimore outfit formed around 1969, and featured five vocalists, DennisTobell (lead guitar), Steve Mace(2 nd guitar), Paul Welsh (drums), Kenny Ross (percussion) and John Nickel (bass). While Maypole is most commonly associated with seventies rock, the influences reflected through their music are varied and enlighten the genre’s diversity. Good production as well. (‘71), so I can recommend this album to you with great enthusiasm! Yardbirds/Cream-influenced hard rock (“Show me the way” and “Comeback”) with psych and prog remnants, has a great immediacy to it and lots of ripping Hendrix-fuzz (the single “Johnny”)

Plagued by setbacks,a bankrupt record company, they leave us this one LP which has recently been resurrected by Gear Fab with two bonus tracks of their pre-Maypole period. In short, this is a fine reissue that most fans of the seventies heavy prog sound with lots of soul should enjoy.

DJ Ricks Top re-issues of 2006
Publication:  Staion website
by:  DJ Rick
2007-08-29

DJ Rick Kdvs FM Radio

 

 

I host a weekly radio show called "Art for Spastics"...
I play thee best in garage/scuzz-punk ineptitude, knuckledragging thug-rock of the lesser primates, high-falutin jackoffnoise, glitched-out electro booyar jamz, art-damaged skronkrawk, misappropriation of "Neo-No-Wave" & hella contrived subgenre names....
You just nod along & pretend to enjoy!"

 

 

TOP 10 REISSUES & RETROSPECTIVES OF 2006

Bernard Bonnier "Casse Tête" (Creel Pone)
Crisis "Holocaust Hymns" (Apop)
Dead Moon "Echoes of the Past" (Sub Pop)
Ich Bin "Obéis!" (Poutré Apparente)
Jackwacker "...Things From Inside Your Body" (Black Velvet Fuckere)
Lake of Dracula "Skeletal Remains" (Savage Land)
Maypole "The Real" (Anopheles)
Ruth White "Flowers of Evil" (Creel Pone)
Smegma "Live 1991-1993" (Resipiscent)
v/a "Messthetics Greatest Hits: The Sounds of D.I.Y. 1977-80

Dusted Features
Publication:  Dusted Features
by:  Unknown
2007-08-29

Maypole
The Real LP
(Anopheles

 

Continuing in a tradition of fine vinyl collectibles from the bottomless well of taste that is Karl Ikola’s Anopheles imprint (Debris, George Brigman, Twinkeyz) comes this lost rock concept notable by Baltimore’s Maypole, barely issued by Colossus in 1971 and all but lost to the buying public in that label’s collapse. Those who know, know that music created in and around 1970 is generally “thee shit,” it being a banner year for stars to align for all manner of heavy/psych/proto-metal/dark pop, and in that sense, Maypole succeeds completely; there’s still the sense of creating a work more grandiose than is expected (conceptual themes, songs running together into side-long suites, mentions of how the Beatles raised the bar for their kind of music, etc.) and while there are strains of lofty sentiment here a la S.F. Sorrow or the first Gracious! album, these guys are clearly into their own thing. The liner notes speak of a band that only wanted to be free, and was cursed by uninformed decisions, bad business, and personal tragedies – while completely ignoring that the listening public typically has no attention span for something this layered and progressive – it’s very hard to get a bead on all that wallowing when listening to the album. It’s a definite keeper, with great, ragged U.S. garage tendencies stretched to accommodate loftier song structures, with some surprisingly heavy moments like “Look at Me” and “Johnny” that tactfully avoid the easy answers that a more knuckledragging, besotted bunch (like Dust) might have produced. They also make the complete bum-out track work in their favor, in the album’s bittersweet closer “Stand Alone.” Like all Anopheles product, this is a beautiful reproduction, the album receiving its first-ever solid remastering job, pressed on audiophile clear vinyl and housed in a beautiful tip-on sleeve repro. It’ll be gone before you know it, so get in there. CD version forthcoming on Gear Fab, but as of now vinyl is the only way to get it.

Maypole Review
Publication:  Nailing Smoke To The Wall
by:  Tony Dale
2007-08-29

Nailing Smoke to the Wall - 2006 in review, part 2

reviews -Tony Dale

 

And let me just take a moment now to mention the official reissue of Maypole's The Real LP on Anopheles which comes in vinyl only. The version that dropped on CD on Radioactive a year before is a total fraud to be avoided at all costs. Anyway, Maypole is something of a mystery; the Baltimore natives released one album in ‘71. Think Big Star, Pretty Things and the like. It's simply one of the rawest and most ambitious heavy psych/power pop hybrids I've ever heard. I hope more people catch on, and something tells me they will. There were a lot of amazing reissues this year, but this is the only one I'm mentioning here.

Maypole Review
Publication:  Music Chamber
by:  Tim Ellison
2007-08-29

Music Chamber

Electronic Web Log - Tim Ellison

Saturday, December 30, 2006

I copied the text when I submitted my Pazz and Jop ballot, but I didn't manage to paste it anywhere and proceeded to forget about it. Anyway, my singles ballot was the same as the one below. (Wondered for a bit if the new Killers single, "Bones," might make the lower part of the top 10, but I don't think it's good enough - though I do like it.) I believe this is what I submitted as my top albums:

1. Joanna Newsom - Ys (18 points)
2. Various Artists - Big Apple Rappin' (12 points)
3. Various Artists - Messthetics #101 (10 points)
4. Various Artists - Messthetics #102 (10 points)
5. Lansing-Dreiden - The Dividing Island (10 points)
6. Sir Lord Baltimore - Kingdom Come (10 points)
7. Maypole - The Real (10 points)
8. The Red Krayola - Introduction (10 points)

So, I got it up to eight albums with the inclusion of the two great new Messthetics volumes, the Red Krayola album, and Maypole. The Maypole album is the most recent Anopheles Records release (vinyl only). Listening to this album again now, I think it probably deserved to go higher than Lansing-Dreiden or Sir Lord Baltimore. At least I got all those albums on there, in any case.

Myspace Comment
Publication:  My Space
by:  Inside Charmer
2007-08-29

www.myspace.com/insidecharmer

Yes! popsike! Thanx man!
Maypole is one of the best underground heavy acts in the US...I can't believe that they actually sound like a more acid Bang!
I wonder if there's more shit like that...

Village Voice Pazz and Jop POLL
Publication:  Village Voice
by:  Tim Ellison
2007-08-29

ballot for Ellison, Tim

        Albums

1

Of Montreal  The Sunlandic Twins
Polyvinyl

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

25 points

2

Newsom, Joanna  Ys
Drag City

 

  search for review 

18 points

 

3

Todd Tamanend Clark  Nova Psychedelia
Anopheles

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

20 points

4

Various Artists  Big Apple Rappin'
Soul Jazz

 

  search for review 

12 points

 

5

McCartney, Paul  Chaos and Creation in the Back Yard
Capitol

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

15 points

6

Various Artists  Messthetics #101
Hyped to Death

 

  search for review 

10 points

 

7

Michael Angelo  Michael Angelo
Void

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

10 points

8

Various Artists  Messthetics #102
Hyped to Death

 

  search for review 

10 points

 

9

Various Artists  Prog Is Not a Four Letter Word
Delay 68

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

5 points

10

Clap  Have You Reached Yet?
Skyf Zol

 

  search for review 

5 points

 

11

Milk 'n' Cookies  Milk 'n' Cookies
RPM

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

5 points

12

Sir Lord Baltimore  Kingdom Come
Anthology

 

  search for review 

10 points

 

13

Creme Soda  Tricky Zingers
Radioactive

 

  buy the album
   
search for review 

5 points

14 

Maypole  Real
Anopheles

 

  search for review 

 11

Fatty Koo  Bounce
DASLabel/Sony Urban Music/Columbia

 

15

Jennifer Gentle  Valende
Sub Pop

 

  buy the album
  search for review 

5 points

16

Architecture in Helsinki

Maypole Review
Publication:  KFJC FM Online Reviews
by:  Thurston Hunger
2007-08-31

Maypole - “Real, The ” - [Anopheles Records]

Dropping some interesting bombs into the mindmeld of firedaisy rock,
indeed there’s some sort of nuclear blast on the lead-off track
and at other times a reverb buster gets cut loose for a couple of
beats. Check the album cover for a slice of 1970, flip it over and
you see everyone sings on this. A good sign, as is a nest of Who’s
Next calibre rock und hoople before Sister Disco steamrolled the
unsuspecting long-haired boys and girls. Paul Welsh not only sings
but kinda plays melodic drums on this, if you know what I mean.
His hi-hat often whispers, “pssst.” Definite rock histrionics get
yer mental fog machine fired up. Even the old open-string trill
riff gets buzzed into “Johnny!” They even pump fake you with the
“rock ballad” intro on “You Were” but again a nice bit o’ bashing
works its way into the up-phase of that number. Yeah some songs
have “Yeah” in the lyrics. Man (if I may address you in the proper
vernacular), this is 1970! A lot of bands would hear stuff on the
radio and think, we’re better than that. Maypole was indeed, but
as the detailed liner notes describe, and the lyrics prophecy
“This scene for me fell through, for only a year but
the time I spent wondering I could have born another man”
Alas, Maypole often got the shaft, still this is enjoyable as a
time capsule / holy grail / hot R Baltimore. Definitely a shadow
hovers nearby of what could have been; mention of more ragged and
improvised (yet still loosely tight) live sets beckon a rare boot?

-Thurston Hunger

  • Reviewed by Thurston Hunger on October 26, 2006 at 5:54 pm
  • Filed as A Library, 12-inch
  • Baltimore City Paper Review
    Publication:  Baltimore City Paper
    by:  Tim Ellison
    2007-08-31
    Email this Review  Print-ready version  leave a comment
    [0]
    Sound Tracks | Maypole

    Maypole
    The Real
    Anopheles
    (1970, Vinyl)

    California reissue label Anopheles has just rereleased a great hard-rock album from the following year by Charm City's own Maypole. Originally released on MGM subsidiary label Colossus, Maypole's only album would seem to have a fairly low profile as a psychedelic obscurity, but it turns out to be a surprisingly grand affair.

    Rooted heavily in English rock of the era, Maypole nevertheless managed also to foreshadow certain strains of '70s pop rock. Group leader Dennis Tobell's songwriting is surprising in its consistently high inspiration throughout, including some long, involved tunes that have more to do with the burgeoning rock-opera aesthetic of the time--though The Real is itself not thematic--than with prog rock. Driven by adept and tough rhythm guitar, this all sounds like a strange accomplishment for a band with as minor a profile as Maypole's. The Real also evinces a certain wistful pathos that was possible with psychedelic music but perhaps ultimately only manifested itself in rare instances like The Notorious Byrd Brothers and the 13th Floor Elevators' Easter Everywhere.

    Titles
    The Maypole